Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Review: The Revenant by Gensler

The Revenant
Sarah Ginsler
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Released June 14, 2011
Review Copy: From Library
Goodreads link




What a pleasure! This is not only a spooky ghost story, but a highly researched historical novel as well. I could not put it down, and do not remember reading anything like it before.
I was super pleased to see the main character grow up during this novel, the change was subtle,and realistic. Very well done!
The ghost here is a real chiller, but scarier than the dead is the behavior of the living. This novel, at its core, is really about class and social standing. It is about how we treat each other and how money and standing effect that.
There are really three stories in one here and each is handled very well. I recommend this for fans of Lois Duncan, Laurie Halse Anderson (for the history buffs), and anyone looking for something different to read.

0 comments: