Skip to main content

The Source of All Things: A Memoir

The Source of All Things: A Memoir
By Tracy Ross
Goodreads link
Source: library copy



I found about this one from Whole Living Magazine. It was really wonderful. Tracy Ross writes like she is sitting at the kitchen table with you and is just telling you her story. I could not put it down. She is so brave and I loved reading how she rescued herself from a really bad situation. It made me wish I was more connected to nature. Does drinking half the world's supply of coffee count?

Highly recommended for fans of The Glass Castle, Fierce: A Memoir, and The Girl's Guide to Homelessness.
Book clubs should be reading this right now.


I can see it having a cross over audience into YA, because most of this story takes place when Tracy was a teen.

Sometimes in books about abuse, an adult steps in to "save" the main character. Tracy's story is unique in that she saves herself and the authorities really fail her. Imagine the lives this book could improve if it got into the right hands at the right time!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Attention Lucky Leprechauns.....

Whoo hoo! Time for some lucky, Irish fun. One lucky, lucky person will win a $25 gift card to Amazon to spend on whatever your little heart desires.
Rules:
Fill out the form. Comments and follows are not required, but sure are nice!
US only, I am just too new at this to attempt International at this point.
Check out all of the blogs on the hop! There are loads of chances to win some great stuff.
Thank you for entering, and please feel free to stop back and visit me anytime!
Contest open: March 17, 2011 to March 20, 2011. Winner will be notified on the 21st by email.
Hop to here to see the list of participating blogs!



Loading...

Teddy Bear Storytime

Tonight's storytime followed the same format I use for all of my day storytimes as I have temporarily suspended my idea of doing storytime in reverse in order to get the kids sleepy. They only seem to run out into the library to pick out movies and books and the effect is lost. So here is what we did tonight.

Our theme was teddy bears, but our night storytime is always wear jammies, bring a lovey, and low action.

My opening song is Hello Bubbles which I learned from Read Sing Play here. BTW this woman is a storytime goddess and I have picked up many great ideas on her blog.

Story the 1st: The Red Hat by Lita Judge

 Why? Because I want to get across to my kids that books do not always have to have words in order for us to "read" them, and I want to give pre-readers a chance to feel proud they finished a book on their own. I plan to try to read or highlight at least one wordless read for the next couple of storytimes.

Flannel Board: Ten in the Bed
I used a modified versi…

How to Make a Sharknado for Your Shark Craft

I have had an insane amount of fun this summer, but I always try to do something for Shark Week. This year I called it Shark Lab and we are making three crafts I have never done with the kids before.

But for ME, I wanted a Sharknado.
Inspired by this post, and I tried several different dish soaps and NONE of the tornadoes looked as good as they did in this lady's posts. She must have magic soap, but it really works!

Then I went to three stores to find either plastic sharks that would be light enough to float and not just sink to the bottom of the jar and/or shrinky dink material (make my own damn sharks!) Both hunts were fail, so I made them myself using  a template I cannot find again. Sorry.


 I flipped the images, cut them out, glued them together and then book-taped the hell out of them! Presto, waterproof.

The jar needed something....so I made a small label with
"Sharknado" bookended with some fancy orange chainsaws and voila!

One Sharknado for the parents to play…