Skip to main content

Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend 
By Marie Lu
Published: Nov. 29/2011
ARC from publisher
4.5 out of 5 Stars

In the Republic, children are sorted by a trial that they either pass and go on to lead productive Republican lives or fail and go to work camps.
June is the daughter of a proud Republic family. She is the best of the best, even entering high school three years early due to her perfect score in the trial. She is 15.

Day is a criminal mastermind who has brought nothing but trouble to the Republic-disrupting supplies, breaking into government facilities, and taking his spoils and giving them to the poor. This futuristic Robin Hood is also 15.
Now, things have gone horribly wrong and it's the best of the best vs the worst of the worst. June vs Day.
  I loved this book. It was like reading manga that had been converted to novel form. The action is solid, the conflict between the two solid characters is even and perfect. It reminded me very much of Death Note.
The world building is excellent, although I have never been to California, so I'm sure my imagination's version of the Republic will differ from someone who lives there now. Landmarks mentioned in the story, for example, do not mean anything to me.
  So, why not a perfect score? Well because the book is a great deal of fun but never really dips into that lower level of introspection of the situation. It does not go deep. It is a high action, fun read.
   Highly recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, Dark Life, Black Hole Sun, and manga.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Attention Lucky Leprechauns.....

Whoo hoo! Time for some lucky, Irish fun. One lucky, lucky person will win a $25 gift card to Amazon to spend on whatever your little heart desires.
Rules:
Fill out the form. Comments and follows are not required, but sure are nice!
US only, I am just too new at this to attempt International at this point.
Check out all of the blogs on the hop! There are loads of chances to win some great stuff.
Thank you for entering, and please feel free to stop back and visit me anytime!
Contest open: March 17, 2011 to March 20, 2011. Winner will be notified on the 21st by email.
Hop to here to see the list of participating blogs!



Loading...

Reading Challenge: Read all of the Nebula Nominees

I am on a mission to read all of the Nebula Award Nominees before the awards are presented on May 20th. This was prompted by the fact that I see these awards all of the time and I have only recently gotten hooked on science fiction so I think it is important to understand what the community thinks is the best of the best. I plan to do the exact same thing for the Hugos, but I have time.
Unlike childrens' book awards, in which awards do not in any way equal popularity, readers seem to like to award favorites.

It's no secret I am just crazy about N.K. Jemisin and her writing. Honestly it is because of she and Kameron Hurley and Becky Chambers and Jacqueline Koyanagi and Charlie Jane Anders and John Scalzi and James S.A. Corey (both of them) that I find myself absolutely loving this genre. I have NO desire to go back and read early science fiction with dorky cartoon covers featuring sexy aliens and white dudes holding Jetson-esque blasters. I want to read forward. I like where …

Nebula Award Nominees 2017- Short Stories

This post is my progress report on my self-challenge to read all of the 2017  Nebula nominees! So far, I have completed the short story category and most of the the novelettes. I have 3 novellas and 3 novels to go.

Nebula Award Nominees 2017- Short Stories

What fun! I would never have read any of these stories on my own, although I expect some of these will show up in some future anthologies.
I have one personal gripe, and this will come up again in another category, and that is the death of the horror genre. Because they have just killed "horror" and lumped scary stories in with science fiction and fantasy, we get stories like SabbathWine trying to compete with Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies and it's not fair. It really is apples and oranges. Don't believe me about horror? Go find the horror section in the Barnes and Noble. Go ahead, I'll wait. 

     Griping over, this selection of stories was AWESOME and heavy on the fantasy stories. Seasons and Wardrobe are fan…